ChrisChat’s Pondering

February 21, 2024

It’s coming…or going, I hope. Please don’t let this be the 3 day start to a cold.

February 14, 2024

Happy Valentine’s Day. I might be a day late in posting this, but I’m keeping the Wednesday date because it applies to the reviews we give, especially on this day of love. We put a lot of pressure on this day…what if we’re not or we’ve lost or broken up…it gets emotional. Then there’s reviewing what were we given…gave…too much, too little, too anything. For my family, it was the dinner. You know the restaurant is going to be busy, takeout is going to be busy, but then reality comes in and you’re basically bored. Yes, this day has far too much pressure on being perfect that it loses meaning. Forget the packaging, how’s the content 😉

February 7, 2024

Happy February, Everyone. I’ve probably mentioned this before, but just realized I’ve been reviewing books for nearly 30 years. I don’t think my list has every been below 100 TBR…to be reviewed. Happy reading.

January 31, 2024

Last day of January and I’m still expecting winter. Sure, we’ve had some snow and some blistering cold and a whole lot of overcast days, but where’s our winter? Look I’m not missing those snow and ice covered roads, paths, piles of stuff that won’t melt, but I am dreading their appearance. If this January was a genre I think suspenseful noir would fit…anticipation of what’s just beyond the fog’s edge.

January 24, 2024

Still feeling overwhelmed, little bit of progress in the right direction…so, why am I adding more books to my TBR pile??? Books, series, I’ve already read and want to read the next one. All I can think is, I’m craving the comfort of the familiar. I’ve disliked “Hollywood” pulling the same-ole movies out instead of the new, so why is there comfort in re-reading a fave?

January 17, 2024

How can January be half over? I thought by now I would have multiple reviews up, campy movies blogged about, and far more books read/started. I still have half a month to go, right 😉

January 10, 2024

I’ve finally listed my non-reviewing books and I don’t know how you would call this feeling of them being about the same size as those books I’m working on reviewing. There’s a mix of overwhelming thrill and uh-oh. Either pile, it’s what I’ll be doing this stormy weekend.

January 3, 2024

Happy 2024. It’s that time to take stock of what you want to accomplish in the next 12 months. Where are you with the books you’re writing, reviewing, and looking forward to? Taking stock…yup, been doing a lot of that these last few days. I’m looking forward and it feels right.

December 27, 2023

Saying goodbye to 2023 and the books I will finish in the coming year. Hello to the new reads waiting for us.

December 20, 2023

In the hustle and bustle of the season I rarely make time to read, which is horrible. I see others listing how many books they’ve read the past year and think maybe I should do that…aim for a reading goal and do it. Hmmmm, I’ll let you know next week if this pressure leaves me 😉

December 13, 2023

Book? Movie? Paper? Electronic? TV? All. The imagination is mysterious and wonderous. There are multitudes of the same theme in stories, but all with a tinge of difference. Every voice just a bit to the off-side of the next and how they are showcased shouldn’t matter as long as they reach us. Think of it as turning left instead of right; leaving 5 minutes early versus 5 minutes late; making the bus or missing; any this, that, or the other. As many minds creating the stories there will always be something unique that will touch us all.

December 6, 2023

End of the year. Last month of the year. Time to look back and ahead all at the same time. Those new year resolutions…the ones we keep repeating, hoping we’ll actually accomplish them. Yeah, I stopped making them decades ago. Doesn’t mean we shouldn’t review our year and see what we could do better in the next. I don’t know, right now I’m more trying to figure out if I should keep the current internet provider’s TV package or change it. Reading their channel comparison lists is like reading a really awful confusing novel.

November 29, 2023

I CAN READ AGAIN! Yes, I used an exclamation point with capitals, that’s how excited I am.

November 22, 2023

Last week was vivid dreams, this week it’s no energy to even read. I’ve gotten lost in streaming TV shows I didn’t even watch when they were current. I need books. I have books. I need my energy to read.

November 15, 2023

Covid has taken my reading energy and zapped it away. Funny thing, though, I’ve had some very vivid dreams.

November 8, 2023

All writers take risks with their books…we are the risks.

November 1, 2023

Hello, November, what new reads will you bring?

October 25, 2023

I’m starting to recollect some previous favourite books. Adding in some “classics” I’ve never read, but think I should. Does this mean I’m reviewing my TBR pile? Come on, I’m not the only one who orders which books I’m going to read first and which I’m saving…maybe that’s why we have too many TBR piles, we readers worry too much about running out of the faves and are too impatient to wait for the next one? Think I’ll just go read now.

October 18, 2023

How will history record humanity? If there are aliens, as the science fiction genre tells us, how are they reviewing our world?

October 11, 2023

We need Peace not prayers

October 4, 2023

What’s scarier….a good fright book or a horror movie?

September 27, 2023

There’s this crazy debate about who are reviews for…audience or authors. I’ve realized I’ve been doing reviews wrong. I write reviews for me cause I simply love talking about books (movies), in any format. Yup, the reviews I write are for me. Hmmm, maybe I shouldn’t have said this out loud 😉

September 20, 2023

Eye specialist today. It’s the final visit from the possible stroke back in May. The current belief and most logical one is that I had a migraine…who knew you could have one without the pain. But, it still has me thinking if it’s eye related, like my mom’s was, how would I adapt my reading life. Is sight the one area I would miss most if I lost it?

September 13, 2023

Is it just me or do you slow your reading when you know there’s not another book in the series waiting? When’s my next Dresden fix coming?

September 6, 2023

The beginning of September was the beginning of school and that meant monthly Scholar’s Book magazine. Loved those paper pamphlets. The first time my daughter received one, in kindergarten, it brought back memories. I miss seeing those.

August 2, 2023

As if I don’t already have multiple piles of books to read, I had to go and find more. I needed to see what new books, from fave authors and series, were out and that sent me searching through virtual shelves upon shelves. Oh to have only so much to read and so little time.

July 26, 2023

The heat is on and with those words the 70’s, or was that in the 80’s, song is playing in my mind. I can’t read to that type of music anymore, I need anything without words…no, I need near quiet or any music I am not familiar with, so that I don’t get caught up in the song and pulled from reading. Although I can read during TV commercials. Right now the a/c is interrupting my reading, its noise, but need the coolness as this heat is a bit too much for me anymore. I know, this is the rambling of a over-weathered brain.

July 19, 2023

How many writers are there who have never written their stories because someone said something meant to encourage but came disguised in individual poorly worded wrappings?

July 12, 2023

Trying to figure out what I’m thinking today when it creeps in….reviewing…books…how many are there…movies….music….restaurants….any product…we listen to recommendations, but who recommends people that would fit us? There really are times I should shut my mind down and walk away from any thinking.

July 5, 2023

I’m dealing with a memory emotion and trying to write this pondering, maybe this question fits? Why do we read…write? What is the stronger driving force – escape, relaxation, entertainment?

June 28, 2023

Is it age or the way life is with social media, streaming services that has changed my attention ability? Like writing, I used to be able to read anywhere in any situation with any noise level, now, not so much. I can concentrate during commercials, which is why streaming is preferred, not just by me. It’s a struggle to give into the written word…not what anyone wants to hear from a reviewer. Taking a moment of turning everything off and sitting in quiet helps. Maybe it’s my mind searching to fill the now vacant sensory space within; whatever, the reason now is the time to steal it back.

June 21, 2023

Don’t make the time to read….take it

June 14, 2023

It’s been said if you can’t say anything nice then don’t say anything at all, how realistic is that? Any review should be a balance of the positive and negative and at times one or the other will outweigh the other and that’s okay, it can actually be expected. It’s the same with life…we have a highs and lows and we can’t do anything more but accept them and see them through. What’s old will be new again…what comes around comes around again…maybe those are closer to being real than anything else said?

May 17, 24, 31, & June 7, 2023

What a month makes. Good news…I did not have any stroke as far as all my doctors are concerned about. On the 17th, I rubbed my right ear and loss vision for about 15 minutes…think that white tissue on exam tables settling over eye. My side vision was still wonky, so ended up in Urgent Care for a full eye exam by the resident ophthalmologist who then sent me to ER for a CT-scan. All clear, but ER set me up with Stroke Clinic for a visit with the neurologist plus started me on baby aspirin for 21 days. My blood pressure has reached the lower limit of needing meds to help bring it where everyone is happy. New eye glasses have been ordered. Still more bloodwork and a heart monitor to do. But, that’s where I am right now 🙂

May 10, 2023

Frustration. That was a moment this morning and I know there will be more, but they are moments only. I will remember that and move through them. In the meantime, I’m going to work through my day and take time to fulfil my goals and promises.

May 3, 2023

Didn’t think much today or do much…woke from a dream that the emotion carried along with me all day. Not a good emotion, kinda down and lonely emotion. I couldn’t tell you what the dream was, but it was sad and melancholy, weepy-making. I should have picked up a book and read, or my own pen and paper and wrote, but I cleaned and prepped veggies instead…not quite a time waster, but felt like it. Hope Thursday’s morning is brighter.

April 26, 2023

Just finished watching Scream VI. The whole series started before my daughter was born and now she’s hooked on the movies…is that strange to be proud about? That something I’ve enjoyed as a genre and crafted genre-slasher-movie is now a shared entertainment. How does this nature/nurture work…I should ask her? Shared entertainment enjoyment is an added bonus, now if I can just get her to like Nancy Drew 😉

April 19, 2023

I called myself “officially old” today and the 21 year-old asked was it because I now groan getting out of my chair…she heard me from my bedroom to the other room. I had to give that line to her, it was funny. Nope, it’s because staying up till 2:30am kills my energy for the next day. Change happens, this wasn’t the change I was looking forward and frankly, I think if I try opening a book I’m going to fall asleep no matter how good they are 🙁 Is 7:36pm too early for bed?

April 12, 2023

Change hasn’t arrived, yet…tomorrow. And still no reading. Stay with me, please

April 5, 2023

Still didn’t show up and still have not read anything, writing this makes me feel horrible, but it’s reviewing my lousy habits…change will come.

March 29, 2023

I didn’t show up and I didn’t read

March 22, 2023

Happy birthday to my mom and brother

March 15, 2023

Plants. I bought more baby plants. I’m on track for not being able to keep a Boston Fern alive and well, but right now my Spider plant is fighting me. Normally, I can keep a Spider plant thriving. Baby Philly is growing and so is the Ivy. Cactus and succulents…no luck, although the Christmas Cacti aren’t dead. I have 2 Shamocks, green and purplish…okay, technically they’re Oxalis. And that’s my wondering mind’s pondering this morning. I might want a baby Boston Fern and Spider plant and a Goldfish plant. Spring is in the air

March 8, 2023

Today was about health, dental health, and review the work I need done since the cancer. When will I get to the point of not having to think back on the aftermath of that time? Teeth and hair are the only parts of me that are still coming back from that time and it irritates me. It’s these little things no one ever talks about and it’s different for everyone. Moving forward, still. At least I’m moving forward 🙂

March 1, 2023

As I’m writing this, in the early hours of the next day, I don’t know how I would review my first day of March. I didn’t accomplish the goals I have for every Wednesday; however, I don’t feel the day was a miss. We all have days that will be interrupted with anything and everything and not even much at all, we only need go with the flow and do our best.

February 22, 2023

My area is expecting an ice storm. My area is under potential power outage warnings. My plan? Pay bills online before it hits. Write. Read. Play. Read. Write. Play. Watch the weather from the safety of my bedroom window. Make time to enjoy any day that’s delivering the “uck.”

February 15, 2023

The wind is howling outside right now, 3:03pm et. The sky is molten patches of cooled grey with spots of bright blue instead of fire red. This greyness is inching along with the power of the wind. The air is warmer than it should be. The sun blasting through in its game of peek-a-boo. In the time it has taken to write this the clouds are drifting apart in a strip tease. And that’s my day so far.

February 8, 2023

Has anyone ever reviewed candy? I’m writing this as I just looked for a piece of candy to snack on. How silly would I be to add candy reviewing to my long list of ideas?

February 1, 2023

The month of love. The month of love-themed movies which have me diving for my blood and guts slasher movies. I’m not a romantic which is why reviewing romance is a bit of a challenge. I have and some I’ve even enjoyed, but my strength is recognizing when I’m not connecting and knowing that others probably will. So, for the month of February, I’ll be searching for the darkness of blood to counteract the love-red hearts around me.

January 25, 2023

Tried watching a newly revisited movie on a favourite childhood TV series…crap. I know we want to revisit past favourites. I know we don’t all agree on how it should be done or not done. Maybe it’s just something we shouldn’t do. There’s so many new stories out there, new characters, new ideas, why do we keep going back to redo? There are diehard…and not just that movie franchise…stories and characters that work being revisited – Sherlock…?…?…yeah, I’m drawing a blank. I don’t know many who want and like being spoon-fed and even more who are tired of the same old thing…so why don’t we demand more new? Or, is it that we need the safety more now than the new?

January 18, 2023

Late today, I’ve been reviewing old files on my laptop and deleting and cleaning them. That was a rabbit hole to be travelled and lose hours on. It zapped the energy, too. Every so often it’s what we need to do…like hunting under-the-bed-dust-bunnies. Have you cleaned/checked your computer files?

January 11, 2023

Does anyone read magazines anymore? I was in the drugstore recently and stopped at the magazine rack and was hit with the want to buy almost everything in front of me. The past fun of flipping through glossy pages, reading gossip, comics, shorts, just looking at pictures filled my memory. Mom and Dad used to buy me comics when I was in bed sick. Game magazines…puzzles, mazes, word searches…pencil or pen? I love books, but the pile of magazines had such a pull for me. Some now cost the same as a paperback, but I miss magazines.

January 4, 2023

Simple start to the new year…read more!

December 28, 2022

Wow, way too many ideas flying through the mind right now…revamp the websites to move the Ponderings to the other side of the page…move all the year’s ponderings to a different page and tab…continues them down the page as is…commit to a certain number of books to read in 2023. Heck, I’m writing them here so I have them somewhere to find. Others party and celebrate the year’s end; me? I clean or set my home in order ready to start fresh, even if a bit tired. I don’t do resolutions, but I do want to read more. You?

December 21, 2022

Holiday resolution….read more. You only get 1 guess what next week’s New Year’s resolution will be 😉

December 14, 2022

Slowly getting over this coughing cold…slowly. I’ve managed to find my review notes and set up the next in line.

December 7, 2022

Reading while sick is impossible. Back to bed I go

November 30, 2022

I had hoped to have more read and more reviews written, but I’m letting myself down. Last day of November and time to review my work habits

November 23, 2022

Reviews are starting to feel too repetitive, too much like a formula writing and I want to break that habit writing. This has slowed down my writing of the backlog of reviews. As I mentioned last week, balance, working on finding the balance of style and freshness.

November 16, 2022

I missed reading. I’m a reviewer and I fell away from reading for a bit and I know that makes no sense, but there it is. I need to find the balance, again.

November 9, 2022

Simple truth…I miss those authors I previous reviewed and their next book that didn’t materialize anywhere either due to publisher change, out of print, not writing anymore, lost among the multitudes, and simply just gone. Writers, you are missed.

November 2, 2022

New month and new set of review reading happening. Want to get caught up by end of the year, but the books just keep getting added to my list…not going to complain 🙂 Only complaining is the shortness of time.

October 26, 2022

The weather has turned back to fall. The sun is hiding up there behind the rain clouds keeping the temperatures lower and damp. Logically I know we need the rain and there are times I enjoy a solid rainstorm, but mix it with the lower natural light and my mood pulls in and goes down. I have lightbox, but the mind is taking time to adjust and believe in it…books are so much easier to fall into. Hoping to reconnect to a few.

October 19, 2022

Not happy with the lack of progress I’m making through this cold. Is it the lack of sunshine or just being sick, still. I went and bought a light lamp and will let you know how if anything changes with it.

October 12, 2022

There are many reasons to feel down when sick, not having the energy to read is one of them. Mindlessly watching movies and not grasping what you’ve watched is another. Missing out on the small moments of fun is a major one…going through a choking cough, now that really dampens the mood for anything. Stay healthy and look for the day’s fun.

September 28 – October 5, 2022

Uhm, I thought I lost my review notes. Uhm, I changed the notebook I was using. I found it. I misplaced it. I found it, again. I’m blaming the season changing and my brain not sticking with the program.

September 21, 2022

I could say it’s the struggle to restart today, but it’s more the memories of this being my parents 60th wedding anniversary and missing dad.

September 14, 2022

If you follow any of my other sites, you know this is my birthday week. Taking it slow and easy. Reading and watching campy movies.

September 7, 2022

Who said better late than never? I think that’s become my newest mantra and the most annoying one. Being late was the one personal habit my parents drilled into me as not being one to have and I think I’ve taken to cultivating it. At least when it comes to doing for me. Well, the good news is this is the first Wednesday of September, so maybe I’ll break it here 🙂

August 10, 2022

I’m not one to read the last page of any book or to read ahead to find out what’s coming or happened. However, I can’t say the same for movies or TV series. I’m currently watching the Spanish series The Longest Night, Netflix, and it’s a thriller, in a prison, Warden’s children…had to check that they children were going to be okay. I’m still watching. Do you ever do this?

August 3, 2022

It’s actually too hot to read. My concentration is sitting beside zero-energy and droopy-eyes. You would think now would be the perfect reading time…chair, a/c, cool drink, doing nothing but immersing in someone’s creative world following…okay, think I’ll try again.

July 27, 2022

Finally! I figured out how to copy my charts back into the website and update them. It took a…too long…and far too much frustration on my part, along with some swearing at the programs, but the charts are updated. The only thing I forgot…update the missing genres. And, then, get their pages ready for reviews 🙂

July 20, 2022

I’m adding books to my reading pile…why? I already have what some say too many…can you have too many? Nah, that’s a silly notion.

July 13, 2022

Do your reading habits change with the seasons? My writing habits do, but I still tend to read the same genres no matter the weather. Now, my daily timing of reading, that has changed. On average, I’m a day reader.

July 6, 2022

Been spending more time watching middle of the road Shark monster movies and have been surprised at a few for being better than I expected. Have you been surprised by any B, C, or D movies?

June 29, 2022

There’s a light rain happening right now and as much as I want to write and do other work it feels like a reading day. What weather fits reading for you?

June 22, 2022

It’s high humid and low air quality today…time to sit and veg out with B-D movies. I’m too hot to read 🙁

June 15, 2022

There are times we need to review our lives and all that we keep in it, whether they are things or even people.

June 8, 2022

No matter what anyone says keep your dreams and goals alive. It doesn’t matter what a critic or reviewer or reader/watcher anyone says. Everything starts with you for you.

June 1, 2022

New month, new beginnings…time for new stories? Of course.

May 27, 2022

I couldn’t show up on Wednesday, there was too much pain coming from my neighbouring country. There will always been pain for those who loved the ones no longer with us, may the memories eventually help.

May 18, 2022

Anyone else want to sit outside and read all day? I’m feeling the urge to take my reading totes and do it. I also know I’ll spend most of the day just listening to life around me and probably end up dozing.

May 11, 2022

Finally, picked up a fiction book and read again. Have had a health issue, again, and the first thing that leaves is my reading ability. That hurts me more than the illness.

May 4, 2022

Does anyone read reviews?

February 9, 2022

Julia Cameron’s The Artist’s Way speaks about taking ourselves on an artist’s date. I need to devote, at least, one hour to nothing but reading your books. I’m failing us both if I don’t.

February 2, 2022

Hi. The weather outside is ick heading to nasty, or so they tell us, that means I can either keep my working hat on or just curl up and read the rest of the week away. Problem with that is I talk books no matter what or who I read, so does that mean my working hat is always on? Maybe I should change “working” for “critic”? I really don’t like that word…critic…sounds too much like I’m looking for holes to tear apart. Opinion…thought? Both sound really weird with “hat” tagged on. How about we just stick with reading hat 🙂

January 19 2022

Revamping. I feel the need to revamp my sites. Maybe if I walk away the feeling will go away? There’s a lot of work involved in a revamp, but I don’t believe I’m using this space to its fullest…yet. Having been away from my sites over the summer and basically, Covid mood, I have some relearning to do…updates to the behind the scenes stuff. Stay tuned as this could get interesting