This Week’s Pondering

November 23, 2022

Reviews are starting to feel too repetitive, too much like a formula writing and I want to break that habit writing. This has slowed down my writing of the backlog of reviews. As I mentioned last week, balance, working on finding the balance of style and freshness.

November 16, 2022

I missed reading. I’m a reviewer and I fell away from reading for a bit and I know that makes no sense, but there it is. I need to find the balance, again.

November 9, 2022

Simple truth…I miss those authors I previous reviewed and their next book that didn’t materialize anywhere either due to publisher change, out of print, not writing anymore, lost among the multitudes, and simply just gone. Writers, you are missed.

November 2, 2022

New month and new set of review reading happening. Want to get caught up by end of the year, but the books just keep getting added to my list…not going to complain 🙂 Only complaining is the shortness of time.

October 26, 2022

The weather has turned back to fall. The sun is hiding up there behind the rain clouds keeping the temperatures lower and damp. Logically I know we need the rain and there are times I enjoy a solid rainstorm, but mix it with the lower natural light and my mood pulls in and goes down. I have lightbox, but the mind is taking time to adjust and believe in it…books are so much easier to fall into. Hoping to reconnect to a few.

October 19, 2022

Not happy with the lack of progress I’m making through this cold. Is it the lack of sunshine or just being sick, still. I went and bought a light lamp and will let you know how if anything changes with it.

October 12, 2022

There are many reasons to feel down when sick, not having the energy to read is one of them. Mindlessly watching movies and not grasping what you’ve watched is another. Missing out on the small moments of fun is a major one…going through a choking cough, now that really dampens the mood for anything. Stay healthy and look for the day’s fun.

September 28 – October 5, 2022

Uhm, I thought I lost my review notes. Uhm, I changed the notebook I was using. I found it. I misplaced it. I found it, again. I’m blaming the season changing and my brain not sticking with the program.

September 21, 2022

I could say it’s the struggle to restart today, but it’s more the memories of this being my parents 60th wedding anniversary and missing dad.

September 14, 2022

If you follow any of my other sites, you know this is my birthday week. Taking it slow and easy. Reading and watching campy movies.

September 7, 2022

Who said better late than never? I think that’s become my newest mantra and the most annoying one. Being late was the one personal habit my parents drilled into me as not being one to have and I think I’ve taken to cultivating it. At least when it comes to doing for me. Well, the good news is this is the first Wednesday of September, so maybe I’ll break it here 🙂

August 10, 2022

I’m not one to read the last page of any book or to read ahead to find out what’s coming or happened. However, I can’t say the same for movies or TV series. I’m currently watching the Spanish series The Longest Night, Netflix, and it’s a thriller, in a prison, Warden’s children…had to check that they children were going to be okay. I’m still watching. Do you ever do this?

August 3, 2022

It’s actually too hot to read. My concentration is sitting beside zero-energy and droopy-eyes. You would think now would be the perfect reading time…chair, a/c, cool drink, doing nothing but immersing in someone’s creative world following…okay, think I’ll try again.

July 27, 2022

Finally! I figured out how to copy my charts back into the website and update them. It took a…too long…and far too much frustration on my part, along with some swearing at the programs, but the charts are updated. The only thing I forgot…update the missing genres. And, then, get their pages ready for reviews 🙂

July 20, 2022

I’m adding books to my reading pile…why? I already have what some say too many…can you have too many? Nah, that’s a silly notion.

July 13, 2022

Do your reading habits change with the seasons? My writing habits do, but I still tend to read the same genres no matter the weather. Now, my daily timing of reading, that has changed. On average, I’m a day reader.

July 6, 2022

Been spending more time watching middle of the road Shark monster movies and have been surprised at a few for being better than I expected. Have you been surprised by any B, C, or D movies?

June 29, 2022

There’s a light rain happening right now and as much as I want to write and do other work it feels like a reading day. What weather fits reading for you?

June 22, 2022

It’s high humid and low air quality today…time to sit and veg out with B-D movies. I’m too hot to read 🙁

June 15, 2022

There are times we need to review our lives and all that we keep in it, whether they are things or even people.

June 8, 2022

No matter what anyone says keep your dreams and goals alive. It doesn’t matter what a critic or reviewer or reader/watcher anyone says. Everything starts with you for you.

June 1, 2022

New month, new beginnings…time for new stories? Of course.

May 27, 2022

I couldn’t show up on Wednesday, there was too much pain coming from my neighbouring country. There will always been pain for those who loved the ones no longer with us, may the memories eventually help.

May 18, 2022

Anyone else want to sit outside and read all day? I’m feeling the urge to take my reading totes and do it. I also know I’ll spend most of the day just listening to life around me and probably end up dozing.

May 11, 2022

Finally, picked up a fiction book and read again. Have had a health issue, again, and the first thing that leaves is my reading ability. That hurts me more than the illness.

May 4, 2022

Does anyone read reviews?

February 9, 2022

Julia Cameron’s The Artist’s Way speaks about taking ourselves on an artist’s date. I need to devote, at least, one hour to nothing but reading your books. I’m failing us both if I don’t.

February 2, 2022

Hi. The weather outside is ick heading to nasty, or so they tell us, that means I can either keep my working hat on or just curl up and read the rest of the week away. Problem with that is I talk books no matter what or who I read, so does that mean my working hat is always on? Maybe I should change “working” for “critic”? I really don’t like that word…critic…sounds too much like I’m looking for holes to tear apart. Opinion…thought? Both sound really weird with “hat” tagged on. How about we just stick with reading hat 🙂

January 19 2022

Revamping. I feel the need to revamp my sites. Maybe if I walk away the feeling will go away? There’s a lot of work involved in a revamp, but I don’t believe I’m using this space to its fullest…yet. Having been away from my sites over the summer and basically, Covid mood, I have some relearning to do…updates to the behind the scenes stuff. Stay tuned as this could get interesting

UPDATE ON CONTACTING AUTHORS/PUBLISHERS ABOUT REVIEWS

Unfortunately, I have lost some contact information and am unable to reach out when your review is completed and posted. I will continue to search through emails, databases, and my notes.  My apologies for the technical glitch which caused this loss.

Where have I been?

Below was written while I was in the hospital, I believe, it’s been nearly a year since I walked out. Today’s May 23 2019 and there’s more to tell of my story, but that’ll come a bit later…

Fighting for my life. Lymphoma to be exact. Relearning to use my legs…and toilet. Hey, never say I’m not blunt and open.

The summer of 2017. Thought burning heat at groin joints, back of neck, hands and feet were strange menopause symptoms.

September 11, 2017. Doctor visit and blood work…menopause or something else. I know my family doctor (and me) knew it was going to be cancer. Why not. It’s not like I’m invincible or special to avoid something that is so common. I’m just lucky it turned out to be something “they” believe can be cured. I’m looking for remission, maintenance, living with it. Cure? I’ll take it, but call me too realistic to hang onto that one simple word.

So, I’m restarting everything. Working from my hospital bed to keep the mind and fingers moving. Tomorrow, I should be starting round three of six chemo treatments. The rest of the week could be hellish, but I need to keep concentrating on therapy to move and eating. The close to hundred pounds I’ve lost isn’t what I ever looked for.

The hair loss…I’ll rock it when I acknowledge it.

What has me nervous is about two weeks after round three I’ll  have another CT-scan in order to see if the spots on liver and spleen have either shrunk, shrinking, or gone.

What’s it like fighting cancer? Not much different than any other day except for being more tried, loss of appetite, not free to move as one wishes. It’s life and I’m being taught to use all the colours in my crayon box. To look around and open my eyes that too much time has already gone by with us saying…let’s do this, that, the other thing…and end up not doing any of it. There will always be something going on, but when you’ve been forced to be quiet and still you quickly learn the something is nothing.

How did I end up here?  On way to a normal clinic visit I stepped down the stair landing and my legs said…nope. They just collapsed under me…moments after I had just walked to the stairs.

Ambulance ride here and up to a ward and first round of chemo.

Wild ride of a dream that was no dream. Why was the one nurse telling me to stay in bed? Wacky dream. Oh crap. I really am upside down on the floor beside bed, bare butt in the air, legs dangling, and catheter showing for the world to see.

No dream. I did it twice. Woke up in panic with second. Don’t remember trip to new area but no more of that drug. People pay to feel that out of themselves? Freaked me out.

Then pneumonia either following or followed by low oxygen. Did you know our oxygen levels should be 93% for our body to function healthily? Down to ICU…not the one my dad died in years ago, but one for us critical patients who need more oxygen than the other area is allowed to handle. At one point I was breathing on my own but with 80% added by machine. Six days later I’m back “upstairs” breathing all on my own.

Now I wait for round three.